Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

Advocating for Our Students, Educators and the Profession

CTA’s Board of Directors oversees the implementation of all CTA policies from the State Council of Education. Board members serve on numerous committees and task forces within CTA and with state and local agencies. At the direction of the President, they represent members in the news media, before civic and community groups and with governmental agencies.

The CTA Board of Directors is composed of 23 teachers, 16 of whom are elected from geographically drawn districts with 10,000 or more members. In addition, two At-Large Directors represent ethnic minorities statewide; one Director represents higher education members; and one Board seat is reserved for a California member of the Board of Directors of the National Education Association. The three Executive Officers bring the total to 23.

Meet Our Board of Directors

E. Toby Boyd, President

eboyd@cta.org  |  @ETobyBoydRead bio

 

David Goldberg, Vice President

dgoldberg@cta.org  |  @teachergoldbergRead bio

Leslie Littman, Secretary-Treasurer

llittman@cta.org  |  @leslielittmanRead bio

Joe Boyd, Executive Director

jboyd@cta.org  |  Read bio

Jerry Eaton, District A

jeaton@cta.org  |  @profedude  |  Read bio

Greg Bonaccorsi, District B

gbonaccorsi@cta.org  |  Read bio

Angela Normand, District C

anormand@cta.org  |  Read bio

Mike Patterson, District D

mpatterson@cta.org  |  @coachp61  |  Read bio

Shelly Gupton, District E

sgupton@cta.org  |  Read bio

Eva Ruiz, District F

eruiz@cta.org  |  @Maestra_Ruiz  |  Read bio

Gayle Bilek, District G

gbilek@cta.org  |  Read bio

Jesse Aguilar, District H

jaguilar@cta.org  |  @JMaguilar66  |  Read bio

Christopher Bushée, District I

cbushee@cta.org  |  Read bio

Erika Jones, District J

ejones@cta.org  |  @Erika78Jones  |  Read bio

Sergio Martinez, District K

smartinez@cta.org  |  @sergiosminca  |  Read bio

Margie Granado, District L

mgranado@cta.org  |  @msmmeg  |  Read bio

Joe Bartell, District M

jbartell@cta.org  |  @joebartell  |  Read bio

Barbara J. Dawson, District N

bdawson@cta.org  |  Read bio

Gregory Abt, District O

GAbt@cta.org  |  Read bio

Roberto Rodriguez, District P

rrodriguez@cta.org  |  @Roberto63  |  Read bio

DeWayne Sheaffer, District Q

dsheaffer@cta.org  |  Read bio

Mel House, CTA/NEA Coordinator

mhouse@cta.org  |  @fizedd  |  Read bio

Bill Freeman, At-Large

bfreeman@cta.org  |  @tac261  |  Read bio

Robert Ellis, At-Large

rellis@cta.org  |  Read bio