Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

Working to Improve Teaching and Learning Conditions Across California

There are various types of committees throughout CTA’s governance structure. From conference planning, membership, organizing, advisory, task forces and other groups, CTA members and leaders work to address public education issues in California.

State Council of Education Committees

There are two types of State Council Committees:

  • Standing Committees are responsible for the development of policies to be considered by the State Council of Education for adoption. These committees recommend positions to the State Council on proposed legislation within their areas of responsibility. 
  • Board Advisory Groups are responsible for recommending policy and procedures to the Board of Directors for consideration. Only members of State Council may be appointed to Board Advisory Committees.

Adult, Alternative, Career & Tech. Ed.: Melody McGill, Chair

Assessment and Testing: Marina Santos, Chair

Budget: Erika Jones, Chair

Civil Rights in Education: Camille Butts, Chair

Communications: Randa Wahbe, Chair

Credentials & Professional Development: Mandy Redfern, Chair

Curriculum and Instruction: Mindy Montanio, Chair

Early Childhood Education: Betty Robinson-Harris, Chair

Elections and Credentials: Pia VanMeter, Chair

Financing Public Education: Steven Comstock Jr., Chair

Language Acquisition: Yolanda Tamayo, Chair

Negotiations: Kaitlyn Graff, Chair

Political Involvement: Roger McCoy, Chair

Professional Rights and Responsibilities: Renata Sanchez, Chair

Representation: Kelly Villalobos, Chair

Retirement: Kevin Welch, Chair

School Safety/School Management: Monique Segura, Chair

Special Education Committee: Ismael Armendariz, Chair

State Legislation: Charlotte Svolos, Chair

Student Support Services: Monica Rodela, Chair

Teacher Evaluation and Academic Freedom: Lisa Hickman, Chair

CTA Board Advisory Groups are groups of CTA members recommended by the President and appointed annually by the CTA Board of Directors to accomplish a specific charge. There are five types of Board Appointed Advisory Groups: 

  • Board Advisory Committees (two types): one with State Council members, and one with ongoing responsibilities within CTA.
  • Task Force: a special committee appointed to meet a particular short-term need. The Task Force ends when the charge is completed, or can be re-established the next year if necessary. 
  • Workgroup: comprised of CTA members and staff appointed to meet specific, short-term objectives. A workgroup ends when the objective is achieved. 
  • Panel: A group of CTA members appointed to serve in an advisory capacity to the Board of Directors. The panel may hold hearings and consider special requests on legal matters or sponsored programs.

Advisory Panel on Endorsed Services

Advisory Panel on Legal Services

Budget Committee

Cadre Advisory Committee

California Reads/Read Across America Activities Planning Committee 

CalPERS Interview Team

Campaign Workgroup

César E. Chávez and Dolores Huerta Education Award Committee

Charter School Issues Advisory Committee

Crisis Assistance Panel

CTA Scholarships Committee

CTA/ABC Committee

CTA/NEA Interview Team

Disaster Relief Fund Committee

Diversity Advisory Panel

Elections and Credentials Committee

Ethnic Minority Leaders Early Identification & Development (EMEID) Program Workgroup

Equity and Human Rights Conference Planning Committee

ESEA Reauthorization Workgroup

ESP Issues Advisory Committee 

Executive Officers Circle

Foundation for Teaching and Learning Committee 

Good Teaching Conference Planning Committee

Governance Documents Review Committee

Gun Violence Prevention Task Force

Higher Education Advisory Committee

Higher Education Educator Award Selection Committee

Higher Education Policy Workgroup

Human Rights Awards Selection Committee

Intern Selection Committee

Interview Team for U.S. Senate

Issues Conference Planning Committee

Large Urban Advisory Committee

LGBTQ+ Issues Conference Planning Committee 

LGBTQ+ Safety in Schools Grant and Scholarship in Honor of Guy De Rosa

Liaison Committee 

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Fund Committee 

Member/Chapter-in-Politics Awards Committee in Honor of Ted Bass/Joyce Fadem

NEA Convention Coordinating Committee

NEA Convention Task Force

NEA Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence Interview 

NEA Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence Screening 

NEA Fund for Children and Public Education

New Educator Pipeline and Support Workgroup

New Educator Weekend Planning Committee

Political Academy Planning Committee

Priority Legislation Subcommittee

Racial Equity Affairs Committee (REAC) 

Racial Equity Steering Committee

Region I Leadership Conference Planning Committee

Region II Leadership Conference Planning Committee

Region III Leadership Conference Planning Committee

Region IV Leadership Conference Planning Committee

Rep Council Best Practices Board Committee

Representation Committee

Rural Issues Advisory Committee

Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Issues Advisory Committee

Special Education Conference Planning Committee

Summer Institute Planning Committee

Vendor Evaluation and Screening Committee

Women’s Rights Committee