Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

Initiative Recommendations


Prop 1: Reproductive Freedom
Provides women equal access to healthcare services and prohibits the state from denying an individual’s right to reproductive freedom.


Prop 28: Art & Music in Schools
Provides additional funding for arts and music education in PK-12 public schools without raising taxes. Nearly $1billion from the general fund annually. Money is used to support arts programs and hire new arts staff. More money is targeted to low-income schools.


Prop 31: Stop Big Tobacco Referendum
Supports referendum to protect current law which bans the sale of flavored tobacco products and marketing to teens.


Prop 27: Online & Mobile Sports Betting
Legalizes online and mobile sports betting in California. Online gambling corporations would take 90% of the profits out of state. Not a single penny is directed to our students or our state's public schools. Could expose millions of kids to online gambling.


Prop 30: Stop the Lyft Tax Grab
Increases income taxes to pay for zero emission vehicle subsidies and infrastructure improvements. It is funded by the Lyft Corporation to get taxpayers to pay for improvements. The tax increase side-steps current law that requires half of any new revenues to go to public education. It also doesn’t raise any additional money for health care and other essential services.


CTA's 2022 Candidate Recommendations



Gavin Newsom

Lieutenant Governor

Eleni Kounalakis

Secretary of State

Shirley Weber

Attorney General

Rob Bonta

State Treasurer

Fiona Ma

Insurance Commissioner

Ricardo Lara

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Tony Thurmond

State Controller

Malia Cohen

Board of Equalization, District 2

Sally Lieber (D)

U.S. Senate

Alex Padilla



AD 1

No recommendation

AD 2

Jim Wood (D)

AD 3

No recommendation

AD 4

Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D)

AD 5


AD 7

Ken Cooley (D)

AD 8

No recommendation

AD 9

No recommendation

AD 10


AD 11

Lori Wilson (D)

AD 12

Damon Connelly (D)

AD 13

Carlos Villapudua (D)

AD 14

Buffy Wicks (D)

AD 16

Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D)

AD 17

Matt Haney (D)

AD 18

Mia Bonta (D)

AD 19

Phil Ting (D)

AD 20

Liz Ortega (D)

AD 21

Diana Papan (D)

AD 22

Jessica Self (D)

AD 23

Marc Berman (D)

AD 24

Alex Lee (D)

AD 25

Ash Kalra (D)

AD 26

Evan Low (D)

AD 27

Esmeralda Soria (D)

AD 28

Gail Pellerin (D)

AD 29

Robert Rivas (D)

AD 30

Dawn Addis (D)

AD 32

No Recommendation

AD 33

Jose Sigala (D)

AD 35

Leticia Perez (D)

AD 36

Eduardo Garcia (D)

AD 37

Gregg Hart (D)

AD 38

Steve Bennett (D)

AD 39

Juan Carrillo (D)

AD 40

Pilar Schiavo (D)

AD 41

Chris Holden (D)

AD 42

Jacqui Irwin (D)

AD 43

Luz Rivas (D)

AD 44

Laura Friedman (D)

AD 45

James Ramos (D)

AD 46

Jesse Gabriel (D)

AD 47

Christy Holstege (D)

AD 49

Mike Fong (D)

AD 50

Eloise Gomez Reyes (D)

AD 51

Rick Chavez Zbur (D)

AD 52

Wendy Carrillo (D)

AD 53

Freddie Rodriguez (D)

AD 54

Miguel Santiago (D)

AD 55

Isaac Bryan (D)

AD 56

Lisa Calderon (D)

AD 57

Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D)

AD 58

Sabrina Cervantes (D)

AD 60


AD 61

Tina McKinnor (D)

AD 62

Anthony Rendon (D)

AD 63

Fauzia Rizvi (D)

AD 65

Mike Gipson (D)

AD 66

Al Muratsuchi (D)

AD 67

Sharon Quirk-Silva (D)

AD 68

Avelino Valencia (D)

AD 69

Josh Lowenthal (D)

AD 70

Diedre Nguyen (D)

AD 73

Cottie Petrie-Norris (D)

AD 74

Chris Duncan (D)

AD 76

Brian Maienschein (D)

AD 77

Tasha Boerner Horvath (D)

AD 78

Chris Ward (D)

AD 79

Akilah Weber (D)

AD 80

Georgette Gomez (D)

State Senate


SD 2

Mike McGuire (D)

SD 4

Tim Robertson (D)

SD 6

Paula Villescaz (D)

SD 8

Dave Jones (D)

SD 10

Aisha Wahab (D)

SD 12

No Recommendation

SD 14

Anna Caballero (D)

SD 16

Melissa Hurtado (D)

SD 18

Steve Padilla (D)

SD 20


SD 24

Ben Allen (D)

SD 26

Maria Elena Durazo (D)

SD 28

Lola Smallwood Cuevas (D)

SD 30

Bob Archuleta (D)

SD 34

Thomas Umberg (D)

SD 36

Kim Carr (D)

SD 38

Catherine Blakespear (D)

SD 40

Joseph C. Rocha (D)

U.S. Congress


CD 1


CD 2

Jared Huffman (D)

CD 3

Dr. Kermit Jones (D)

CD 4

Mike Thompson (D)

CD 5

No Recommendation

CD 6

Ami Bera (D)

CD 7

Doris Matsui (D)

CD 8

John Garamendi (D)

CD 9

Josh Harder (D)

CD 10

Mark DeSaulnier (D)

CD 11

Nancy Pelosi (D)

CD 12

Barbara Lee (D)

CD 13

Adam Gray (D)

CD 14

Eric Swalwell (D)

CD 15

Kevin Mullin (D)

CD 16

Anna Eshoo (D)

CD 17

Ro Khanna (D)

CD 18

Zoe Lofgren (D)

CD 19

Jimmy Panetta (D)

CD 20

Marisa Wood (D)

CD 21

Jim Costa (D)

CD 22

Rudy Salas (D)

CD 24

Salud Carbajal (D)

CD 25

Raul Ruiz (D)

CD 26

Julia Brownley (D)

CD 27

Christy Smith (D)

CD 28

Judy Chu (D)

CD 29

Tony Cardenas (D)

CD 30

Adam Schiff (D)

CD 32

Brad Sherman (D)

CD 33

Pete Aguilar (D)

CD 34

Jimmy Gomez (D)

CD 35

Norma Torres (D)

CD 37

Sydney Kamlager (D)

CD 38

Linda Sanchez (D)

CD 40

Dr. Asif Mahmood (D)

CD 41

Will Rollins (D)

CD 42


CD 44

Nanette Barragan Diaz (D)

CD 45

Jay Chen (D)

CD 47

Katie Porter (D)

CD 49

Mike Levin (D)

CD 50

Scott Peters (D)

CD 51

Sara Jacobs (D)