CTA Congratulates Educators Named as the 2022 California Teachers of the Year

BURLINGAME — The California Teachers Association congratulates the five extraordinary educators, all CTA members, recently named as the 2022 California Teachers of the Year. The teachers were selected by the Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond after an extensive process that began at the county level.

“During a pandemic that has challenged teachers everywhere, these five educators have gone above and beyond and made an extraordinary difference in the lives of their students. On behalf of the 310,000-member California Teachers Association, we congratulate them for receiving this prestigious honor and for being recognized for their excellent teaching, innovation, creativity, and ability to connect with students. You do our profession proud.”

-E. Toby Boyd, CTA President

The 2022 California Teachers of the Year are:

Alondra Diaz (Saddleback Valley Educators Association), who is a third-grade general education and dual immersion teacher at Ralph A. Gates Elementary School in the Saddleback Valley Unified School District, Orange County. Thurmond also nominated Diaz as California’s representative for the National Teacher of the Year competition. Diaz will compete against other state nominees, and the 2022 National Teacher of the Year will be announced in the spring.

Nichi Avina (Palm Springs Teachers Association), who is a middle school science teacher at Cielo Vista Charter School in the Palm Springs Unified School District, Riverside County.

Sovantevy Long-Latteri (Fullerton Secondary Teachers Organization), who is a special education teacher at La Sierra High School in the Fullerton Joint Union High School District, Orange County.

Tiffany Jokerst (Grossmont Education Association), who is a ninth- through twelfth-grade mathematics and engineering teacher at West Hills High School in the Grossmont Union High School District, San Diego County.

Virginia Vasquez (Alhambra Teachers Association), who is an AP Language and Composition teacher at San Gabriel High School in the Alhambra Unified School District, Los Angeles County.

Presented by California Casualty and supported by the California Teachers of the Year Foundation, the California Teachers of the Year Program began in 1972 to honor outstanding teachers and encourage new teachers to enter the profession.

For more information on the award program, please visit the CDE California Teachers of the Year web page. Visit the Teach California website for more information on becoming a teacher.


The 310,000-member California Teachers Association is affiliated with the 3 million-member National Education Association.