Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

By Julian Peeples

The June Primary Election featured a number of important wins for public education as the overwhelming majority of CTA-endorsed candidates won or advanced to a runoff in November.

Gov. Gavin Newsom and Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond headlined a slate of victories on June 7 in an election that saw a very low voter turnout. While votes are still being counted and results are unofficial until July 15, Newsom has received 56.4 percent of the vote and will face off in November against challenger Brian Dahle, who has received 17.4 percent.

In his re-election bid, Thurmond has received 46.2 percent of votes and is slated to face Lance Ray Christensen who has received 11.7 percent of votes and holds a narrow lead over the next two candidates. Every one of CTA’s endorsed candidates for state Constitutional office were victorious.

In races for U.S. Congress, State Assembly and State Senate, 38 of 40 high-priority candidates were victorious or advanced to a runoff in November.

Alysse Castro won in the Alameda County Superintendent race.

Local school board races provided some victories and a few challenges moving forward. Alysse Castro won a hard-fought race for Alameda County Superintendent of Schools, along with important victories in Los Angeles and San Diego. It was also a clean sweep for school bonds and parcel tax initiatives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

With more than 5 million ballots counted already, turnout is projected to be about 33 percent when all the voted are tallied – far north of the lowest turnout ever of 24.1 percent in 2014.

Attention now turns to November’s General Election, which will feature upwards of 2,700 school board races, state and federal legislative runoff elections, and a slate of state propositions ranging from funding for art and music in schools to a living wage. Visit CTA’s Election Home and watch here for more information as the election approaches, including profiles on CTA educators running for elected office.

CTA’s recommendations on November ballot initiatives


Victory on Election Day

The following CTA-endorsed candidates are currently slated to win or advance to a runoff in the November General Election. Election results are unofficial until July 15.

Governor: Gavin Newsom

Lt. Governor: Eleni Kounalakis

State Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tony Thurmond

Secretary of State: Shirley Weber

Attorney General: Rob Bonta

State Treasurer: Fiona Ma

Insurance Commissioner: Ricardo Lara

State Controller: Malia Cohen

Board of Equalization, District 2: Sally Lieber (D)

U.S. Senate: Alex Padilla



AD 2: Jim Wood (D)

AD 4: Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D)

AD 7: Ken Cooley (D)

AD 11: Lori Wilson (D)

AD 12: Damon Connelly (D)

AD 13: Carlos Villapudua (D)

AD 14: Buffy Wicks (D)

AD 16: Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D)

AD 17: Matt Haney (D)

AD 18: Mia Bonta (D)

AD 19: Phil Ting (D)

AD 20: Liz Ortega (D)

AD 22: Jessica Self (D)

AD 23: Marc Berman (D)

AD 24: Alex Lee (D)

AD 25: Ash Kalra (D)

AD 26: Evan Low (D)

AD 28: Gail Pellerin (D)

AD 29: Robert Rivas (D)

AD 30: Dawn Addis (D)

AD 33: Jose Sigala (D)

AD 35: Leticia Perez (D)

AD 36: Eduardo Garcia (D)

AD 37: Gregg Hart (D)

AD 38: Steve Bennett (D)

AD 39: Juan Carrillo (D)

AD 40: Pilar Schiavo (D)

AD 41: Chris Holden (D)

AD 42: Jacqui Irwin (D)

AD 43: Luz Rivas (D)

AD 44: Laura Friedman (D)

AD 45: James Ramos (D)

AD 46: Jesse Gabriel (D)

AD 47: Christy Holstege (D)

AD 49: Mike Fong (D)

AD 50: Eloise Gomez Reyes (D)

AD 51: Rick Chavez Zbur (D)

AD 52: Wendy Carrillo (D)

AD 53: Freddie Rodriguez (D)

AD 54: Miguel Santiago (D)

AD 55: Isaac Bryan (D)

AD 56: Lisa Calderon (D)

AD 57: Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D)

AD 58: Sabrina Cervantes (D)

AD 61: Tina McKinnor (D)

AD 62: Anthony Rendon (D)

AD 65: Mike Gipson (D)

AD 66: Al Muratsuchi (D)

AD 67: Sharon Quirk-Silva (D)

AD 69: Josh Lowenthal (D)

AD 70: Diedre Nguyen (D)

AD 73: Cottie Petrie-Norris (D)

AD 76: Brian Maienschein (D)

AD 77: Tasha Boerner Horvath (D)

AD 78: Chris Ward (D)

AD 79: Akilah Weber (D)

AD 80: Georgette Gomez (D)


State Senate

SD 2: Mike McGuire (D)

SD 4: Tim Robertson (D)

SD 6: Paula Villescaz (D)

SD 8: Dave Jones (D)

SD 10: Aisha Wahab (D)

SD 14: Anna Caballero (D)

SD 18: Steve Padilla (D)

SD 24: Ben Allen (D)

SD 26: Maria Elena Durazo (D)

SD 28: Lola Smallwood Cuevas (D)

SD 30: Bob Archuleta (D)

SD 34: Thomas Umberg (D)

SD 38: Catherine Blakespear (D)


U.S. Congress

CD 2: Jared Huffman (D)

CD 3: Dr. Kermit Jones (D)

CD 4: Mike Thompson (D)

CD 6: Ami Bera (D)

CD 7: Doris Matsui (D)

CD 8: John Garamendi (D)

CD 9: Josh Harder (D)

CD 10: Mark DeSaulnier (D)

CD 11: Nancy Pelosi (D)

CD 12: Barbara Lee (D)

CD 13: Adam Gray (D)

CD 14: Eric Swalwell (D)

CD 15: Kevin Mullin (D)

CD 16: Anna Eshoo (D)

CD 17: Ro Khanna (D)

CD 18: Zoe Lofgren (D)

CD 19: Jimmy Panetta (D)

CD 20: Marisa Wood (D)

CD 21: Jim Costa (D)

CD 22: Rudy Salas (D)

CD 24: Salud Carbajal (D)

CD 25: Raul Ruiz (D)

CD 26: Julia Brownley (D)

CD 27: Christy Smith (D)

CD 28: Judy Chu (D)

CD 29: Tony Cardenas (D)

CD 30: Adam Schiff (D)

CD 32: Brad Sherman (D)

CD 33: Pete Aguilar (D)

CD 34: Jimmy Gomez (D)

CD 35: Norma Torres (D)

CD 37: Sydney Kamlager (D)

CD 38: Linda Sanchez (D)

CD 44: Nanette Barragan Diaz (D)

CD 45: Jay Chen (D)

CD 47: Katie Porter (D)

CD 49: Mike Levin (D)

CD 50: Scott Peters (D)

CD 51: Sara Jacobs (D)

The Discussion 0 comments Post a Comment

Leave a comment

Please post with kindness. Your email address willl not be published. Required fields are marked*