Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

Scholarship Season!

The CTA Scholarship Program offers educational scholarships for:

  • Members (a maximum of five scholarships up to $3,000)
  • Dependent children of members (a maximum of 34 scholarships up to $5,000)
  • A dependent child attending a continuation high school or alternative education program (one scholarship up to
    $5,000 in honor of Del A. Weber)
  • Student CTA members (a maximum of three scholarships up to $5,000 in honor of L. Gordon Bittle)

Application deadline is Jan. 29, 2021. Go to for details.

The Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Scholarship Program offers educational scholarships up to $6,000 to CTA and CTA/NEA-Retired members, their dependents, and Student CTA members who are persons of color. Applicants must also be pursuing a degree, credential or certification for a teaching-related career in public education, and enrolled for summer or fall 2021.

Application deadline is Feb. 12, 2021. Go to for details.

CTA Awards: Nominations Are Open!

Multiple opportunities abound to recognize your colleagues for their great work in an extraordinary year.

2021 Paula J. Monroe CTA ESP of the Year: For an education support professional whose work reflects the contributions of ESPs to public education. Any CTA member may nominate a CTA ESP member; go to for details.

Nomination deadline is Jan. 8, 2021.

2021 CTA Human Rights Awards: Awarded annually to CTA chapters, Service Center Councils, and members in the following categories:

  • American Indian/Alaska Native Human Rights Award in Honor of Jim Clark
  • César Chávez “Sí Se Puede” Human Rights Award
  • CTA Member Human Rights Award
  • CTA Peace and Justice Human Rights Award
  • African American Human Rights Award in Honor of Lois Tinson
  • Human Rights Award for LGBTQ+ Advocacy in Honor of Nancy Bailey
  • Pacific Asian American Human Rights Award
  • Students with Exceptional Needs Human Rights Award
  • Human Rights Award for Women’s Advocacy

Go to for more information and for the nomination form. Nomination deadline is Jan. 11, 2021.

Featured image: Giorgio Trovato/Unsplash